Breakfast Lovin’ (Recipe!)

I don’t know about you, but mornings around my house are a bit crazy. I try to fit in so many rituals between making hot lemon cayenne water to get things moving (if you know what I mean), green juice, taking my supplements and getting myself to look presentable.

Ok, I may be spending a little too much time catching up on twitter and blogs too… which means I need my breakfast to be ready to go to take with me to work. Putting my breakfast together the night before is the only way I will get a good healthy sustainable breakfast.

When Angela at Oh She Glows posted her exquisite overnight buckwheat parfait last week, I did a little happy dance as I have a crazy obsession lately with buckwheat! Especially cold. She had me completely hooked on vegan overnight oats last year, I knew this would not disappoint :)

To make a long story quite short, Angela was one of the very first bloggers to get me excited about becoming vegetarian, and eventually vegan because her recipes are incredible works of genius! No word of a lie, she will test recipes until they are absolutely perfect before she posts it. I love that kind of commitment to delicious food! She has recently signed a book deal to put out her very own cookbook,  so keep your eyes open for that one friends!

I’m done gushing… back to breakfast!

Let’s be real, throwing together a gorgeous parfait-style breakfast before work is just not going to happen with this girl. Only on the weekends… maybe. I also wanted to amp up the superfoods to really get this delicious cereal how I wanted!

To make it even better, this just happens to be a raw breakfast. In the last month or so, I have made it my mission to eat at least one raw meal a day. I just bought a dehydrator and have a few raw recipe books, I need to put them to good use! In addition to that, I have been trying to give my digestive tract a break. My body is absolutely loving it, so in an effort to pay more attention to what it’s telling me I hope to up the ante pretty soon and incorporate more.

Alright, enough chit chatting, let’s get to the recipe!

One of the many versions I made, but the only one I actually captured before inhaling ;)

Raw Buckwheat Cereal
Adapted from Angela’s recipe

Note: Please be careful not to use toasted buckwheat (kasha)! Raw groats are best not only to keep the dish entirely raw, but the flavor is much milder. Buckwheat and chia seeds are both high in protein and fibre. Chia seeds are also a great source of healthy omega fats. Top it with fruit and you have a perfect breakfast.

Makes 1 serving size

Ingredients

1/3 cup raw buckwheat groats, soaked in water overnight
1/2 cup nut/seed milk (I used hemp)
2 tbsp chia seeds
½-1 teaspoon banana powder (or whatever plant-based sweetener you like!)
1/4 tsp cardamom (or cinnamon)
1 tsp goji berries
1 tsp cacao nibs
1 tbsp golden berries
pinch of sea salt

1. Give the buckwheat groats a quick rinse and add into a bowl. Pour filtered water over the groats until there’s about an inch of water above the groats. Stir to make sure it’s all covered, there may be some floating around at the top. Cover, and place in the fridge overnight.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients and whisk until completely combined. Cover, and place in fridge overnight.

3. In the morning, drain and rinse the buckwheat well with cold water through a strainer, don’t miss this step as the groats do get slimy. Add rinsed and strained buckwheat into the chia mixture and stir well. If you’d like, top with fresh berries or sliced banana! To get more healthy fats in, add a few walnuts or sprinkle of hemp hearts.

I like my cereal to be nice and thick, but if you like yours a bit more runny add milk when you mix it together in the morning. I’m also not a fan of too much sweetener, so you may want to adjust to your liking. I find that adding fruit makes it sweet enough!

It may not be as pretty as Angela’s, but it’s delicious all the same!

Question of the Day: What is your favorite go to quick summer breakfast?? My other favorite is this one

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Lovin’ (Recipe!)

Leave a Reply

